//
you're reading...
London Film Festival

Preview of the BFI 57th London Film Festival (9-20 October)

BFI-London-Film-Festival-2013

From the 9th to the 20th October the 57th London Film Festival takes place across various venues in the capital, but predominantly Leicester Square and the Southbank with the full programme line-up here:

http://www.emagcloud.com/bfi/BFI_London_Film_Festival_2013_Programme/index.html

Here’s my pick of some of what I hope will be the highlights this year:

12 Years A Slave – Steve McQueen http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/sep/07/12-years-a-slave-toronto-premiere

Inside Llewyn Davis – Coen Brothers http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/telluride-inside-llewyn-davis-gets-617752

Blue is the Warmest Colour – Abdellatif Kechiche http://www.timeout.com/london/film/blue-is-the-warmest-colour

Night Moves – Kelly Reichardt http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/sep/01/venice-film-festival-night-moves-review

Stranger By the Lake – Alain Guiraudie http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/stranger-by-lake-cannes-review-523183

Only Lovers Left Alive – Jim Jarmusch http://www.vanityfair.com/online/oscars/2013/09/tilda-swinton-only-lovers-left-alive

Nebraska – Alexander Payne http://variety.com/2013/film/reviews/cannes-film-review-nebraska-1200486846/

We Are the Best – Lukas Moodysson http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/we-are-best-venice-review-619055

Abuse of Weakness – Catherine Breillat http://variety.com/2013/film/reviews/toronto-film-review-catherine-breillat-abuse-of-weakness-1200601335/

The Double – Richard Ayoade http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5gYI2ILA8Y

Ida – Pawel Pawlikowski http://variety.com/2013/film/reviews/film-review-ida-1200595465/

Starred Up – David Mackenzie http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/starred-up-telluride-review-619077

Tom at the Farm – Xavier Dolan http://variety.com/2013/film/reviews/tom-at-the-farm-review-venice-toronto-1200596353/

Tracks – John Curran http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/tracks-venice-review-617499

Under the Skin – Jonathan Glazer http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/sep/03/under-the-skin-review

Here Be Dragons – Mark Cousins http://www.hibrow.tv/player/?em=R5YXRxZDr7FnjogcA4GHLKvD58XkeCxK

Gloria – Sebastian Lelio http://variety.com/2013/film/reviews/gloria-1117949217/

The Past – Asghar Farhadi http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/may/17/cannes-2013-the-past-review

Vic + Flo Saw A Bear – Denis Côté http://www.screendaily.com/reviews/the-latest/vic-flo-saw-a-bear/5051815.article

Closed Curtain – Jafar Panahi http://www.screendaily.com/reviews/the-latest/closed-curtain/5051931.article

Milius – Zak Knutson http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/sxsw-review-milius-is-a-rousing-tribute-to-the-warrior-poet-of-mainstream-hollywood-20130317

Walesa; Man of Hope – Andrzej Wajda http://www.culture.pl/web/english/events-calendar-full-page/-/eo_event_asset_publisher/L6vx/content/international-reactions-to-wajda-s-walesa

Camille Claudel 1915 – Bruno Dumont http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/camille-claudel-1915-berlin-review-420879

Exhibition – Joanna Hogg http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/aug/09/exhibition-joanna-hogg-review

Story of My Death – Albert Serra http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/story-my-death-historia-de-608481

Computer Chess – Andrew Bujalski http://www.indiewire.com/article/sundance-review-is-the-hilarious-computer-chess-a-change-of-pace-for-andrew-bujalski

All Cheerleaders Die – Lucky McKee http://www.fangoria.com/new/all-cheerleaders-die-tiff-movie-review/

The Congress – Ari Folman http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/congress-cannes-review-523950

Rigor Mortis – Juno Mak http://twitchfilm.com/2013/09/venice-2013-review-rigor-mortis-pays-eerie-homage-to-hong-kong-vampires.html

The Sacrament – Ti West http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/sacrament-venice-review-619733

The Strange Colour of your Body’s Tears – Helene Cattet http://www.screendaily.com/reviews/the-latest/the-strange-colour-of-your-bodys-tears/5059226.article

Why Don’t you Play in Hell? – Sion Sono http://twitchfilm.com/2013/09/tiff-2013-review-sonos-why-dont-you-play-in-hell-brings-the-madness-to-midnight.html

Locke – Steven Knight http://twitchfilm.com/2013/09/tiff-2013-review-sonos-why-dont-you-play-in-hell-brings-the-madness-to-midnight.html

Short Term 12 – Destin Daniel Cretton http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review/short-term-12-sxsw-review-428883

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

There is no time for the innocent...

and this is not an exit.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

mnemosyne

"All art is contemporary, if it's alive, and if it's not alive, what's the point of it?" Hockney

hitchcockmaster

Where Suspense Lives!

First Impressions

Notes on Films and Culture

The Moving Silent

Observe the wonders as they occur around you. Don't claim them. Feel the artistry moving through, and be silent.

PenPaperAction!

Film, history, books, writing, with a bit of knitting

Based on truth (and lies).

passion explored endures more

....unless it's a cinema

shadowplay

david cairns

davekehr.com

reports from the lost continent of cinephilia

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: