//
you're reading...
Kevin Brownlow

Kevin Brownlow on ZEEBRUGGE (1924) d. H. Bruce Woolfe & A.V. Bramble

large

I recently sent Kevin Brownlow a film he had requested for a friend who is writing a book on the director, Clarence Brown, that they hadn’t seen.

I included in the package to him another film that I had recently acquired and that I thought may be of interest to him, this was the 1924 silent documentary film ZEEBRUGGE by H. Bruce Woolfe and A.V. Bramble.

The film was made by British Instructional Films Limited, runs for around 60mins and captures the brilliant and heroic raid of April 23rd 1918. It’s aim, combined with a raid on Ostende, was to block the Flanders U-boat and destroyer flotillas in their Belgium bases. The print I had received appeared to be restored, it was colour tinted and had been given a sympathetic orchestral score.

Here is Kevin’s email to me about the film:

“Gosh, Neil, your package had more impact than you could imagine. When I was a kid, I acquired a 9.5mm film cut down to 1 reel about the Zeebrugge operation. It had a shot in it that I’ve never forgotten because I couldn’t work out how they did it. An officer is shot in a night scene and you can see the silver flash as the bullet goes in his back. There was no CGI in those days, and there was no other way it could be done. It stayed in my memory, puzzling me until last night when I looked at your dvd of ZEEBRUGGE. Of course – the simplest methods are often the best. They scratched the negative horizontally at exactly the right moment for just one frame!.

It was so nostalgic to see those scenes – and in much better quality, and beautifully tinted. I thought the 9.5mm was an abridgment of HEARTS OF OAK (1933) although I could never work out what happened to the actors – Frank Cellier etc. This explains it all  Despite the naff miniatures, it is done with a sense of bravura rare in these reconstructions.  Every time I go to Belgium, I try to get to Zeebrugge just because of that film…

Thank you so much,

Very best,

Kevin”

Discussion

One thought on “Kevin Brownlow on ZEEBRUGGE (1924) d. H. Bruce Woolfe & A.V. Bramble

  1. Neil – it’s fascinating (and somewhat intriguing) to read that you have/had a copy of a restored version of Zeebrugge (1924). I have searched for years for such a copy, the best I’ve been able to track down being an incomplete unrestored print held by the BFI. I realise that it’s unlikely but would you be willing to point me in the direction of a copy of the restored version please? I feel it’s such a shame that such an historical film has never been made more generally available to historians or, indeed, to the general public.

    Kind regards,
    Simon

    Posted by Simon Phillips | February 25, 2016, 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

Spirit of the Thing

just tryin' to capture it

kinetografo

racconti delle immagini in movimento

Criterion Close-Up

A Criterion Podcast

There is no time for the innocent...

and this is not an exit.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

mnemosyne

"All art is contemporary, if it's alive, and if it's not alive, what's the point of it?" Hockney

hitchcockmaster

Where Suspense Lives!

First Impressions

Notes on Films and Culture

Karzan Kardozi

Observe the wonders as they occur around you. Don't claim them. Feel the artistry moving through, and be silent.

PenPaperAction!

Watching films, going places, researching history, making stuff. That's me.

Based on truth (and lies).

passion explored endures more

mrandmrswheatley

....unless it's a cinema

Wonders in the Dark

Largely Cinema, but also theater, music, opera, books

shadowplay

david cairns

davekehr.com

reports from the lost continent of cinephilia

